Living the boat life on the Murray River Queen! - Reisverslag uit Waikerie, Australië van Birthe Opzeeland - WaarBenJij.nu Living the boat life on the Murray River Queen! - Reisverslag uit Waikerie, Australië van Birthe Opzeeland - WaarBenJij.nu

Living the boat life on the Murray River Queen!

Door: Birthe van Opzeeland

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Birthe

16 September 2013 | Australië, Waikerie

Oranges, pirates, mustaches, pj's, hippy's, the op shop, reduced section, oranges, boat, goon, picknicks, glow in the dark tubes, birthdays, bra's that are too big, oranges, laughter, tears, friendships forever, cheese platter, munchies, sangria, oranges, psycho roommate, stolen toothbrush, ice in shower, blocked toilet, oranges, say goodbye, say hello, the river, moths, jumping on the sofa, cleaning the common room, 'the club', nippy's, oranges, picking, packing, sorting, roomparty's, sleeping, no sleep at all, oranges, road trip, girl nights, movie nights, food nights, BBQ's, beer pong, oranges, slaps, drinking games, quiz nights, raft race, stealing ice cream, Thai restaurant, sunday funday, winery, oranges, stolen parcels, 201 legends, boat bitched, bonfire, poker night, wedgies, oranges, stolen cutlery, oranges, dentist, doctors, 400 dollar wisdom tooth removal, antibiotics, pain killers, oranges..... That's what living on the MRQ is about!

I've been living on the Murray river queen now for about 16 weeks and soon I'll be gone! Finally after all my regional work I can go away. I've hated the boat so manny times, but I couldn't imagine a better place to do my regional work with the best people! We were a little boat family who takes care of each other and I'm lucky that I get to leave with them as well, on to our road trip and a new adventure in Melbourne.

Some people may think I had other plans, if you have read my last blog, but it changed and that is what traveling is al about. You never know what happens and you keep on meeting people! I'm now gonna leave with some girls and we're gonna do the great ocean road together. We bought some tents and hired a minibus, so we are all sorted and it will be loads of fun with this manny girls haha.

The last weeks I've still been working in the packing shed nippy's. I've been packing sorting and handling the machines. As much as I love oranges and as much as I know they are sweet and juicy. While working they've became an object. An object that appears in different sizes, colors, grades, shapes. An object that I have to pack in a box of sort on a table, and I have the power to decide which ones are going in and which ones are down graded! An object that I need to pack in order to get money, get my 88days and leave this place. An a object that has obsessed me the last weeks. An object that almost got me crazy! But also an abject that I'll never forget and will cherish my whole live because it reminds me of this place and all the people I've met! Gotta love oranges!

But while doing the regional work we also have our weekends off! So that means fun! Because there is nothing to do in Waikerie we try to make it as fun as possible and we come up with party's where everybody has to dress up! So we had a pj party, pirate night, mustache night, hippy night. And the hippy night was on my birthday. A birthday that I'll never forget because it was the first time away from home without my family! But because of my amazing friends, a.k.a. Boat bitches, it was an amazing day. We went for a pick nick, my first one ever, and I got amazing presents like sweets, chocolate orange, glow in the dark gel...... And lingerie that is way too big! Oh and not to forget a homemade chocolate cake! And in the evening party as hippy's. So it was an amazing day.

But sometimes we also have less days...... As when Chrissy and me got a new roommate..... She looked nice and friendly, until they found out she had stolen the keys from the boat and was saying that she and her friends were gonna rob the boat.... But they found out when we were at a party and when Chrissy and me came back to the boat there was commotion everywhere because our roommate took a guy back to the room and when they wanted to confront here with the stolen keys she fall out of the topbunk.... Naked.... After that she got crazy and wanted to leave. So when Chrissy and me got back, she was asleep in the closet with her backpack on her back, all the other bags packed as well, the whole room a mess, jumper gone, ice cream in shower, blocked toilet, and above everything she stole my toothbrush! Haha. We wanted her out and we arranged it, she got out went away and the next day they were thrown of the boat..... Big fuzz, but we're back to normal again :).

These are just some highlighted things, because time flys and I have no sense of time or what happened when. I know I'm gonna leave on the 27th to Adelaide and then off to Melbourne and party with the girls and find a job. And I know I'm coming home at the 18th of February because my amazing sister and her boyfriend are getting a cute baby! Can not wait to be an amazing aunt ;).

Next time I'll finally be at another place in a real city, lets get back to civilization!

Love

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Waikerie

Birthe

Actief sinds 09 Feb. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 1119
Totaal aantal bezoekers 17623

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Februari 2013 - 15 Augustus 2013

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: