Home is where the heart is! - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Birthe Opzeeland - WaarBenJij.nu Home is where the heart is! - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Birthe Opzeeland - WaarBenJij.nu

Home is where the heart is!

Door: Birthe van Opzeeland

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Birthe

20 Januari 2014 | Australië, Melbourne

I hate cliches but I'm gonna fall into them because its all totally true. Home is where the heart is! And my heart has been here in Australia with my travel family, they are my home. My travels are almost coming to an end and I wish this would never end. I did the most amazing stuff and I really changed for the better. Ive been so happy loads of time, I was my bubbly self and gained more confident which I really needed. And everybody will know that I did, they've seen it and I'm blessed to have them around me! I know in a while its not gonna be a goodbye but a see you later. You guys better let the crazy Dutch come visit yous haha.


Last time I was already saying I was about to do some epic stuff!! Well happy new year everyone it's already 2014 and it's going quick! Travels are almost coming to an end, well for now off course. You never know what the future will bring hehe. But first of all luckily I'm still here so let's just still enjoy my amazing beautiful life!

I spend Christmas in Melbourne with my travel family and it was amazing, we had an epic play on christmas eve, did secret Santa with like over 20 people, had a BBQ in the sun, went to the beach, had dinner together, went to the beach in the evening and went out! A Christmas to never forget!

Which was quickly followed by an amazing new year. Chrissy and me were taking the bus from Melbourne to Sydney, which was 'only' a 16 hour drive....... Carly, Emmett and Barry were already there and we would meet up with loads of people from our farmwork! The bus drive was kinda alright and we survived, unfortunately the bus hit a kangaroo so that was sad.
In Sydney I crashed on someone's couch and the first day I did the bondi to coogee walk with Carly, Emmett and Barry. It was a beautiful day and a nice walk. In the evening we went for some drinks and the next day the drinking could continue because it was new year! We all headed to beare park and we all met up. We were with like 40 people from the farm or Melbourne, it was epic. The sun was shining, we were together and the fire works were beautiful! I wouldn't wanted to have miss it! Amazing people around and an amazing view, couldn't wish for the new year to start any other way!

So what would the new year bring.... I hope it will bring more travels and I hope to meet my amazing travel friends again. The ones back home I'll see for defo but I hope to meet up again with all my melbs fam! Maybe I even come back out to oz because I can not imagine never being with them again. But travels is about saying hello and bye... But the new year also brings new family like the fact that I'm gonna be an aunt and gonna see my beautiful amazing sis again!

But..... Off course I'm still in oz and I'm still doing awesome stuff! After a heat wave was announced for Melbourne and I spent 2 to 3 days in the unbearable sweaty heat! I went to Tasmania! So while people in melbs were still sweating and dripping I was about to say goodbye for the first time to my mates! I knew I would see them again as I would go back after tassie, but I already felt it was hard and I could imagine it being dramatic when I have to leave them when I go home.....

But yeah going on my own again and heading towards new adventures and new places it was still pretty exciting! I landed in Launceston and just wondered around! Went to the city garden and chilled at the hostel where I talked for hours with a really nice girl. But the next day I had to get up early to start my tour. The tour was with 20 people and first when I sat in the bus and we were picking up everybody I felt the odd one of the bunch because not one younger person of my age would jump in that bus..... I was terrified that it would be horrendous, bug luckily at the end we picked up the younger ones and I didn't felt that strange haha. And in the end every person is really nice! Really different but that makes it interesting.

Off course we have the two older lady's that try to get to know you, try to participate in everything and amazingly did almost everything we did. The two German butch women with the camping hike outfits, who we like to call uber deutch along with another German couple. Über deutch basically means that they always always find each other no matter what and are always speaking German and they are really strict with the time, if you say 2.30 it's 2.30 and not 2.31 then you are too late. And obviously they had never heard of 2.30 ish so you need to explain that and what ish means and how to spell the word..... And it's basically not even an English word, I mean you won't find it in the dictionary. And then The single older guy and the single women. the young intelligent Mexican couple. The two mixed nationality couples met while traveling. The single young guy with his tele lens trying to photograph everything and always the last one to arrive at the bus. And then the younger ones. Karina, Fabio, Camilla and Monique which are really nice and around my age! So I had loads of fun with them!

The first day we went for a walk at Cataract Gorge. Which was nice and easy. We saw some birds, a wallabie and the sun was out! After that we went to bay of fires where the rocks are colored orange because a kind of algae. We walked over the rocks and we were climbing them which was really nice with an amazing view. After that we headed to the blow hold where water would splash out of a hole. Unfortunately it wasn't that high but we could still witness it. And then we headed off to Coles bay for our first night. We cooked together and after the dinner we went for an evening stroll on the beach. We tried to see some penguins but unfortunately they weren't there. So the next day we went to Coles bay to do a 3 hour walk to wineglass bay. It was steep but it was doable. At the middle we had an epic view where I made one of the most amazing pictures i have ever made. Beautiful place, stunning and breathtaking. Arriving at wineglass bay the beach was beautiful and the water was freezing cold! Then a wallaby came out on the beach with a baby in the pouch! It was so cute and amazing. The walk, beach and views were just so stunning. Only the why of the name for wineglass bay is less amazing. First of all it looks kinda like a wineglass so that's the first thing. But why it's really called like this is because they used to kill wales at the other side. But because of the tides and the stream all the blood would go to this bay so it filled up like a wineglass with blood and was purely colored red......that's why wineglass bay.

After the walk we drove further to port Arthur. We stopped along the way for some nice views and for a wild echidna! I'd never seen one before but it's kinda like a hedgehog. So in the evening we would arrive at our destination which was our own house! So that was cool, there were games, own kitchen and even a pool table...... And it was next to a cemetery, great haha. So we chilled in the evening and did some games because there was nothing else to do over there.

The next day we headed to the port Arthur prison which looks amazing and has an interesting history ( operating from 1830 till 1877). Mostly for men and only for the ones who committed several crimes! So we walked around the place, saw some nice ruins. But the most awful thing we got to know is that after several years it was open they thought it was better to mentally punish the men instead of physically. So they made the separate prison where the men would spend 23 hours in their cell without any sounds! Even the guards were wearing slippers to minimize their footsteps and they talked with hand signals so they heard nothing and were in silence. They never saw a person and even in the one hour they got exercise and got to go out their cell they were wearing masks so thy couldn't see one another's face! Even going to church they kinda made coffins that were standing up where the men could only look forward to see the priest and that was the only time they could speak, to the priest and as long as it was a pray! It sounds so terrible and loads of them went crazy and had to go to mental institution! You would think they don't do it anymore but they still to this kind of punishment in America.

After that we went for a coastal walk which was great again. And even the wallabies were jumping around in the wild! In the evening we were doing a ghost tour at port Arthur. I don't like horrors and always get scared by it, so this was a great choice haha. The tour was good, basically because she was a great speaker and she could make you feel uncomfortable. We went into houses, basements and prisons in the dark and she had some nasty scary story's . I didn't experienced something myself so I'm still skeptical about ghosts but it was a good tour! But sleeping next to a cemetery isn't the greatest thing after a ghost tour haha. So the guys tried to makes us scared but it luckily didn't work because i knew they would do something.

So the next day would be our last day of the tour and we went to a Tasmanian zoo. We saw some tassie devils, we fed some kangaroos, saw a bird show and saw the feeding of the tassie devils. It was really nice and I love animals so tis was great! After this we had a wine tasting and went to Hobart our end destination. In the evening we had dinner together and went for a last drink. Hobart is one of the bigger cities off course but at some days it's still dead. Pubs close at 9 and we found in the end one that was still open till 12 and there were 6 people or so haha. It's not the most lively city ever but was still nice. Then the next day we went for a stroll went to the Tasmania museum and art gallery which was interesting because they also have some stuff about the Tasmanians aboriginal history. In the evening it was already time to go back to Melbourne to see my family again! Th flight was an hour or so and I had all 3 seats for myself, great flight haha. So now I'm back and gonna enjoy here while I still can. Next week Uluru is on the agenda and after that Byron bay and Sydney and then it's time to fly back home :(. Be back at the 18th, you guys better be at the airport because I'm gonna be devastated and prob need some distraction haha. I'll try to keep you updated with my last travels. But for now I'm gonna enjoy life!

B

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Melbourne

Birthe

Actief sinds 09 Feb. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 627
Totaal aantal bezoekers 17621

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Februari 2013 - 15 Augustus 2013

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: