Granting wishes - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Birthe Opzeeland - WaarBenJij.nu Granting wishes - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Birthe Opzeeland - WaarBenJij.nu

Granting wishes

Door: Birthe van Opzeeland

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Birthe

15 December 2013 | Australië, Melbourne

Ok I might know that my last blog wasn't as inspiring as it used to be. To be honest, I just knew I had to wright a blog again but wasn't feeling the typing on my iPad, so I did it quick. This time I try to make something of it :p

First of all I never had that many nicknames ever in my life, here a list: B, Birdy, Bert, Birthie, Beebop, Bumble B, Bubble, queen B, Bj, sister Beatrice, squirtie Birthie, Dirty Birthie, blowjob Birth ( last three not because I did them but because it rhymes people!)

My end of my journey is almost there, my journey which I never thought to last a year, never thought to had such a great time, never thought not to miss home (sorry), never thought to pick oranges, never thought to never feel alone, never thought to see so many nice places, never thought to be so independent, never thought to gain more confident and never thought to meet so many amazing people! But I know now already that this has been the most amazing time ever! I wouldn't wanted to miss this!

In 9 weeks Ill be home again after exactly a year of traveling! I'm sad to go but also excited because one of the most beautiful things ever is gonna happen and that's that I'm gonna be an aunt! And can't wait to see my sis! But before that is gonna happen I have some amazing things to look forward to! I'm gonna spend Christmas in Melbourne in the sun on the beach with BBQ and my travel family. Then I'm gonna spend new year in Sydney which will be amazeballs! And then on 15 th of January I go to Tasmania alone and do a tour there, then spend Australia Day in Melbourne again and on the 28th of January I go to ayers rock/Uluru and then on the 3 th of February I'm gonna do the last part of the east coast to end my journey in Sydney and fly back and arrive on the 18 th of February. So I have some amazing things to look forward to!


My work for the make a wish foundation ended last week, I had an amazing time but at the end I lost my sparkle a little bit because i had so much nice stuff to look forward to! But I experienced some amazing and weird moments!
A job working on the street comes with different kind of people, nice people, strange people, arrogant people, awkward people, no English speaking people, sexists people, amazing people and even legends! Make a wish is a pretty cool foundation to raise awareness for. They grand wishes for sick children with life threatening illnesses! Have you guys seen bat kid in America......? That was make a wish, pretty amazing. I even met people who knew children with a granted wish, met children themselves who got a wish granted and even met people who lost a kid through illnesses but got a wish granted and are greatfull! It's a rewarding job if you know what happens every day and worldwide even every half an hour, because every half an hour a wish is granted and no wish is to big! They can wish for anything in the world! There even was a little boy who knew that he was terminal and his wish was so unselfish..... He wished a dishwasher for his mother because she always did the dishes, for his father a ring with stay strong engraved to remind him of his son and for his little sister a puppy so she had someone else to play with while he wasn't there anymore ....... Children are pure and innocent!

But not to keep it negative I had some cool and weird stuff happening! I have had freebies! Warm drinks, juices, croissants, chocolate, sweets, crisps, muffins, coke and even a hat! You've gotta love the people that give it to us! I'll remember the difficulties people had with my nationality..... They NEVER guessed it in one time. The most common things were Denmark, Sweden and Germany..... I don't think I look like I eat bratwurst the whole day, do I?...... But even Poland, Russia, tjech slovakia, Austria, Italy, France, Belgium, England, Ireland, Scotland, Iceland, Latvia, Estonia..... I can might as well name whole of Europe..... But now never the Netherlands.....they always needed a hint. A compliment once and a while when they thought I was from Canada or America..... Yes! No Dutch accent there then. Even one time: you're American?..... Me: no..... Ok so you obviously spend a long time there.... Me: no, never ever been there.... Haha.

Loads of number request..... So good for my ego boost as well, although I never liked one. Even other job requests from people.

But the one thing ill never forget, never ever in my life happened like two three weeks ago. Il describe the atmosphere..... It was a good day, I had some good sign ups, the sun was shining so I thought lets get those legs out to tan! I was in a good mood and the end of the day was coming. Till there was a guy who approached me from behind and told me there were two reasons why he had to come over and talk to me.... First of all he needed to know where I was from..... Well the Netherlands..... And second... Guy: uhm you have something on the back of your leg. Me: oh what, am I burned or something.... ( me try to look at the back of my legs). Guy: no no uhm it's.... How do you call it again... I noticed you had cellulite! (Me thinking : ok he has to be kidding me...... Just here on the street right now he fucking dares to say that to me.....) me: uhm yeah I know, I think every women has it (thinking I had to be nice because in make a wish uniform, otherwise he can expect a slap in the face!) guy: no no you can perfectly get rid of it. Me: uhm well how. Guy: you just need a massage every one and a half month or so. Me: well I'm a backpacker I cannot afford a massage every month! Guy: no I can perfectly help you get rid of you, I'm a certified masseus and will give you discount if you come to me, only 30 bucks, ill give you my number and I know what I do, got the skills from Thailand! Me: well tnx ill think about it. Still being in shock why the hell someone on the street approaches a random person to tell that person to have cellulite...... You never know if I had weight problems, are insecure, have skin issues.... Whatever it could be anything..... You cannot just tell random people that! Dickhead! I would have gone crazy Dutch if I wasn't in my uniform, I would have told him to stick it where the sun doesn't shine!

But well even that kind of persons will walk around! Haha, it was never a boring day! But now I'm gonna enjoy my 9 weeks off enjoy the sun and try to get a dark tan and beach blond hair haha! Try to keep you guys updated!

Love B

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Melbourne

Birthe

Actief sinds 09 Feb. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 643
Totaal aantal bezoekers 17619

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Februari 2013 - 15 Augustus 2013

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: